Instagram’s new update will notify you if friends take screenshots of Direct Messages (DM)
Facebook-owned photo-sharing app Instagram will now notify your friends when you take a screenshot of their Direct Messages(DM).
Instagram did start letting you know if people screenshot your Snapchat-style direct messages (those photo and video messages that vanish after you’ve seen them). But Instagram doesn’t send notifications if you screenshot a normal photo. The confusion comes from people seeing notifications that someone has screenshotted their message, and assuming it was a photo.
“Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot,” Instagram said in a blog post. If you are sending a disappearing message (for any reason), Instagram has your back in case your friend wants to keep them for future reference.
The Facebook-owned app introduced ‘disappearing photos and videos’ to the app earlier this week, which is another copy of a feature that was first seen on Snapchat. The feature can be used by swiping right into the camera to capture, then tapping the arrow button to send it privately to a single user or as a group.
The photo-sharing app Instagram has also introduced a new Live video feature to the app. To make a live video, a user needs to swipe right from their feed and tap on the “Start Live Video” button. Users can share a live video for up to an hour and can pin a comment on it. When you go live, your friends will be notified.
It has over 500 million monthly active users and has been frequently updating the app with new features. Snapchat, on the other hand, has 100 million users.